June 29, 2023–Joy Logan / Executive Director, Crittenton Youth Services

Joy Logan, Executive Director of Crittenton Youth Services


Mrs. Logan has dedicated fifty-five years to education through teaching, counseling, training youth and teachers to instruct in the classroom, writing curriculum, and serving as a United Way Agency Director. Her mission is to promote and provide intervention for youth issues that have a negative effect on learning and future success for youth ages 10-13 or grades 5-8. She graduated from Mississippi College for Women and The University of South Alabama.

She is very passionate about our youth and loves to research topics affecting them, talk with teachers, counselors, business leaders, police administrators, and others who can offer their opinions about issues negatively affecting the performance of youth in schools, colleges, and the work force. Classroom teaching and observations offer a reality check to how youth handle life skill problems. Along with Judge Naman, Chief Battiste, and Children’s Policy Council’s commitment to prevent bullying, she was one of the first trained to implement Olweus Bullying in schools.

Feeling the need to offer students in the classroom a new way of learning prevention information, she and her staff created a program that trains High School Juniors and Seniors as Ambassadors, accompanied by an adult instructor, how to present curriculum teaching social and emotional skills to youth in 5th thru 8th grade.  Fourteen high schools (Public, Private, Parochial, and City Schools) participate and nominate teens who have strong character skills and enjoy working with their peers. The program began in 2010 and celebrates with an Ambassador Awards Banquet in April of every year.

Civic Leadership participation includes Assistant Coordinator of the Bullying Coalition of Mobile, Assistant Chair of the Alabama Abstinence Coalition, Member of the Children’s Policy Council, Board Member of Evidence to Success, Member of Envision Mobile and /Baldwin County, Member of Community Board for Mobile Area Education Foundation. She has been recognized as Teacher of the Year for Hamilton Elementary, and Nominee for Jacksonville State Elementary.  Other Awards include James Strickland Community Award and the Bay Bears Charities Community Hero Award.